The Official Website of the State of West Virginia

Non-motorized trail system taking shape in southern West Virginia as new authority continues work


A new authority created to bring interconnecting hiking trails, equestrian trails, bicycle trails and kayaking to several southern West Virginia counties is organizing its membership as the trail system starts to form.

The Southern West Virginia Non-Motorized Trail Authority is working on developing a six-county non-motorized trail system for hiking, kayaking, canoeing, mountain biking and draisine trail systems along with an equestrian trail system. Commissioner Bill Archer of the Mercer County Commission has been visiting Raleigh, Summers, Monroe, McDowell and Wyoming Counties to help organize the new agency.

Archer said that the participating county commissions have been sent a letter outlying who should be appointed to serve on the new authority’s board of directors.

Read more: