The Official Website of the State of West Virginia

Three West Virginia schools earn National Blue Ribbon status


Three West Virginia elementary schools have been recognized as National Blue Ribbon schools in 2023 by the U.S. Department of Education.

The three schools from West Virginia that earned Blue Ribbon status are Jayenne Elementary School in Marion County, Sherman Elementary School in Boone County and Ritchie Elementary School in Ohio County. In total, 353 schools across the nation were honored.

Governor Jim Justice congratulated the three schools following Tuesday’s announcement.

“The recognition is based on overall academic performance or progress and it’s absolutely an honor,” Justice said.

Read more:​