The Official Website of the State of West Virginia

West Virginia DNR: Leave young wildlife alone


With the arrival of spring weather and emergence of young wildlife, the West Virginia Division of Natural Resources is reminding people that possessing wildlife without a permit is illegal and that handling wild animals can spread disease and parasites that can be fatal.
"People often have good intentions when they see a young animal in the woods, but getting close and touching the animal is really harmful to the animal and can be dangerous for you," said Vinnie Johnson, a wildlife biologist for the WVDNR.
Handling wildlife increases the risk of transmitting rabies, roundworms, ticks, Lyme disease and other diseases and parasites. Illegal possession of wildlife can result in fines up to $300 and/or up to 100 days in jail.
Read more: